Eight States Announce Sales of Electric Vehicles Have Surpassed 250,000

Representatives from states that signed the zero emission vehicle memorandum of understanding (ZEV MOU) announced that over 250,000 plug-in electric vehicles have been sold nationwide. The ZEV MOU signatories (California, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Vermont) gathered at the California Air Resources Board meeting in Diamond Bar, California, to announce this milestone and reaffirm their commitment to putting 3.3 million zero-emission vehicles on the road in their states by 2025.  Six of the eight ZEV MOU states - CT, MD, MA, NY, RI, and VT - participate in the Transportation and Climate Initiative (TCI) and its Northeast Electric Vehicle Network.

The ZEV MOU states released an action plan earlier in 2014 that identifies 11 actions states will take to achieve their ambitious goal. States have also been launching their own programs to support ZEV sales, such as vehicle rebates, grants for electric vehicle charging stations, and educational programs for consumers.

States that have signed the MOU are part of a larger group of states that have adopted California’s Zero Emission Vehicle Program under Section 177 of the Clean Air Act. States that have adopted California’s ZEV program will require 15.4 percent of new vehicles sold within their state to be zero-emission vehicles by 2025.